Confidus Solutions logotype

Confidus Solutions

Membership in International Unions

Whether it is an alliance, incorporated union, federal union or supranational body here is the list of unions the country is a member of. Italy is a member of several unions. They are European Union, International Monetary Fund, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Schengen Area, United Nations, World Bank, World Trade Organization.

European Union

Italy is a member of European Union. On 1 January 1958, it joined the EU as a full member state. The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 28 European countries that together form a politico-economic union and cover much of the European continent. It covers an area of 4,324,782 km, with an estimated population of over 508 million. People can travel freely throughout most of the continent. Operating as a single market, the EU is a major world trading power. And it's become much easier to live, work and travel abroad in Europe.

International Monetary Fund

Italy is a member of International Monetary Fund. On 27 March 1947, it joined the IMF as a member. The IMF is an organization headquartered in Washington, D.C., of 189 countries working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability and facilitate international trade. The IMF now plays a central role in the management of balance of payments difficulties and international financial crises. The union is governed by and accountable to the all 189 member countries. As of 2010, the fund had SDR 476.8 billion (about US$ 755.7 billion).

North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Italy is a member of North Atlantic Treaty Organization. Italy has been a part of NATO since 4 April 1949, and therefore has been a member of NATO for 75 years. The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (French: Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord; OTAN) is an intergovernmental military alliance based on the North Atlantic Treaty which. NATO's headquarters are located in Haren, Brussels, Belgium. NATO promotes democratic values and encourages cooperation on defence and security issues. The organization constitutes a system of collective defence whereby its member states agree to mutual defense in response to an attack by any external party. NATO is committed to the peaceful resolution of disputes.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Italy is a member of Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. On 29 March 1962, it joined the OECD as a member. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (French: Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, OCDE) is an international economic organisation of 34 countries, founded in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and world trade, and promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being. It is a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. OECD work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. OECD measures productivity and global flows of trade and investment.

Schengen Area

Italy is a member of Schengen Area. On 26 October 1997, it was accepted into Schengen Area. The Schengen Agreement is a treaty which led to the creation of Europe's borderless Schengen Area. It entitles every EU citizen to travel, work and live in any EU country without special formalities. It was signed on 14 June 1985 by five of the ten member states of the then European Economic Community near the town of Schengen, Luxembourg. Schengen cooperation enhances free movement of persons by enabling more than 400 million EU citizens to cross internal borders without being subjected to border checks.

United Nations

Italy is a member of United Nations. On 14 December 1955, it joined the UN at its inception date as a full member state. Founded in 1945, the United Nations is an intergovernmental organization to promote international co-operation. The work of the United Nations are guided by the principles contained in its founding Charter. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The headquarters of the United Nations is in Manhattan, New York City, further main offices are situated in Geneva, Nairobi and Vienna. Its objectives include maintaining international peace and security, promoting human rights, fostering social and economic development, protecting the environment, and providing aid.

World Bank

Italy is a member of World Bank. On 27 March 1947, it became a member of the World Bank Group. The World Bank is international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries. It's like a cooperative, made up of 189 member countries. These member countries are represented by a ministers of finance who are the ultimate policymakers at the World Bank. The World Bank's official goal is the reduction of poverty.

World Trade Organization

Italy is a member of World Trade Organization. On 1 January 1995, it joined the WTO as a member. The World Trade Organization is an intergovernmental organization which regulates international trade. At its core are the WTO agreements ratified in national parliaments. It is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. The WTO deals with regulation of trade between participating countries by providing a framework for negotiating trade agreements and a dispute resolution process aimed at enforcing participants' adherence.